Real Estate Appraisal  Promote Your Business
Real Estate Appraisal
Cost Report

Types of Designations and Certifications for Appraisers

Designations offered by Professional Associations

All real estate appraisers must be licensed or certified by their home state or jurisdiction. However, many certified appraisers choose to join professional associations in order to obtain additional credentials. This helps to reassure clients about the appraiser’s credibility and professional knowledge in a very competitive industry.

The Appraisal Institute

The Appraisal Institute awards four designations:

1. The SRA is for experienced residential real estate appraisers.

2. The MAI is for experienced residential, commercial, and industrial appraisers.

3. The AI-GRS (General Review Specialist) is for general appraisers and it has a focus on risk assessment.

4. The AI-RRS (Residential Review Specialist) is for appraisers that specialize in residential real estate, as well as risk assessment.

American Society of Appraisers

The American Society of Appraisers is a non-profit organization that awards several designations, but the ASA (Accredited Senior Appraiser) is the most popular choice for residential appraisers. Candidates must first be an Accredited Member (AM) of the American Society of Appraisers. Every 5 years, these appraisers are subject to a re-accreditation process to ensure that they are continuing their education.

National Association of Independent Fee Appraisers

The National Association of Independent Fee Appraisers (NAIFA) offers several different professional designations.

1. IFA
A Residential Appraiser Specialist holds the IFA designation.

An Agricultural Appraiser Specialist holds the IFAA designation.

A Senior Appraiser Specialist for Non-Residential and Income Properties is an individual that holds the IFAS designation.

An Appraiser Counselor who has been an IFAS for 3 years is an individual that holds the IFAC designation.

National Association of Realtors

The National Association of Realtors offers two designations to real estate appraisers: the RAA and the GAA. Each one requires additional experience and training beyond the requirements for state certification or licensing.

1. The RAA (or Residential Accredited Appraiser) is reserved for residential appraisers.

2. The GAA (or General Accredited Appraiser) is for appraisers that evaluate residential and commercial properties.

Counselors of Real Estate

All members of Counselors of Real Estate hold the designation of CRE. This association is an invitation-only, membership organization of some of the top professionals in the real estate industry.

National Residential Appraisal Institute

The NRAI offers four professional designations to its members who apply.

1. Certified Data Market Analyst (CMDA)

2. Graduate Senior Appraiser (GSA)

3. Senior Licensed Appraiser (SLA)

4. Senior Certified Appraiser (SCA)

Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors

Members of the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors may apply to become a Fellow of the organization. This designation often appears as FRICS. About 20% of the members of the organization become Fellows.

National Society of Real Estate Appraisers

The NSREA offers three levels of membership.

1. Residential Membership

2. Commercial Membership

3. Master Membership

National Association of Real Estate Appraisers

The National Association of Real Estate Appraisers offers two basic professional designations, in addition several different levels of membership.

1. CREA (Certified Real Estate Appraiser)

2. CCRA (Certified Commercial Real Estate Appraiser)

Related: Types of Associations for Appraisers

2 people found this article helpful. Have you?

About the Author

ProMatcher Staff, ProMatcher
Orlando, FL 32803

If you would like to re-print this article, please contact the author.
Free Quote from Local Home Appraisers.
Home Appraisal Quotes

Related Topics

Online Home Appraisal Sites
Learn more about online home appraisal tools and their accuracy.

How Much Does a Real Estate Appraisal Cost?
Learn more about the factors that increase and decrease the cost of real estate appraisal.

Home Appraisal vs. Home Inspection
Learn more about the difference between a home appraisal and a home inspection.

Real Estate Appraisal Methodology
Learn more about the three approaches to real estate appraisal: the sales comparison...

8 Home Appraisal Preparation Tips
Learn some helpful tips for preparing for a home appraisal. You want to make sure your...

Free Quote from Local Home Appraisers.

Other Related Topics

What is Real Estate Appraisal?
A real estate appraisal is the report compiled by a trained expert that gives an...

A Guide to the Real Estate Counseling Group of America
The Real Estate Counseling Group of America (RECGA) is a small group of distinguished...

NSREA Appraiser Designations
Learn more about the designations provided by the NSREA.

The CREA and CCRA Appraiser Designations
Learn more about the CREA and CCRA professional designations offered by the National...

NRAI Appraiser Designations
Learn more about the professional designations offered by the National Residential...

Editorial Disclaimer: The views expressed in articles published on this website are those of the authors alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of this website or its staff. The articles on this site do not constitute a recommendation or endorsement with respect to any views, company, or product. Authors affirm that article submissions are their original content or that they have permission to reproduce.

Free Cost Estimates   |   Real Estate Appraisers Directory   |   Real Estate Appraisal Cost Report   |   Free Business Listing

All users of are subject to our terms of use.

Home   |   Articles & Videos   |   Affiliates   |   Networking Groups   |   Search by Category

Terms of Use   |   Privacy   |   Partner Network   |   Your Privacy Choices   |   About Us   |   Contact Us   |   Member Login

©2003-2023 - VentureStreet, LLC

Join Our Business Network